Instagram Coasters

October 15, 2012 at 10:33 pm (Uncategorized)

My fiance and I just got our first place, and one of the first things he said he wanted was some coasters– before he could go out and buy some, I assured him that I’d make some that would not only be better than anything he could buy, but would hold a lot more memories.

A little backstory here– this past summer, him and I went on a (half) cross-country road trip through the states of Texas, New Mexico, Arizona, California, Oregon and Washington, and besides taking over 5,000 pictures on our two-week trip, I also Instagrammed the heck out of our trip.  I knew those square pictures would be perfect for making these coasters.

It’s not a very complicated process, but it was time consuming– basically, I printed my Instagram pictures 4″x4″ and purchased white 4″x4″ tiles.  I used craft glue to paint the sides of the tiles white, and then used a glue stick to glue the pictures to the tile.  To seal them, and make them waterproof, I poured a 2 part resin epoxy on the top, and smoothed it to the edges.  The resin gives the tiles a glass-like quality, and protects the picture from whatever is sitting on it.  I loved the way they came out, and so did my fiance– and so far, they’ve proved to be very useful!

1 Comment

  1. Lots ‘O Pillows « Daner Designs said,

    […] the Instagram Coasters , another thing my fiance asked me to make him was some pillows for our new couch. He just asked […]

Leave a Reply

