Outside the snow is falling…

December 18, 2010 at 7:46 pm (General Crafting, Sewing)

…and friends are calling, “Yoo Hoo”
It’s lovely weather for a sleigh ride together with you… in my new mittens and hat!

Mittens (2)

This is just the prototype to see how the pattern I made fit. I bought two wool sweaters at the thrift store, and “felted” them (shrunk them in hot water/dryer), then I sketched out a pattern for simple mittens and a five-pieced hat. I really really love the sweater for my good set, and didn’t want to ruin it (you only get once chance with this!) so I purchased a second sweater to practice on. It came out so nice I couldn’t resist showing it off!

Both the hat and mittens are lined with fleece, and the whole set took me less than an hour to complete (minus the felting process). A few tweaks to the pattern, and I’ll be set to make the “good” set!

The mittens were tested in the snow– and they passed inspection!
Mittens (6)

Fleece lining:

Mittens

3 Comments

  1. Trish said,

    You are amazing, I’m telling you Martha has got nothing on you.

  2. Goodwill Goodness « Daner Designs said,

    […] the other day, I posted about a wool sweater turned mitten/hat set that I made as a prototype. Today, I am proud to show off the “real” […]

Leave a Reply

