I’ve Learned…

December 9, 2010 at 2:26 pm (Holidays, Photography)

A good friend pointed me to a wonderful blog full of awesome photography resources, hints, tips and motivation. I’ve been stalking “Click It Up a Notch” for a few weeks now, and I’m ready to participate in the weekly “I’ve Learned” session where you can post a picture and have others critique it.

This is my first time doing this, so let me know if I did anything wrong!

Even more Mickey Bokeh (9)-1

“Holiday Bokeh”
1/5 sec, f/1.7
I learned to experiment with my camera’s capabilities. I’ve been wanting to play around with bokeh, and before the tree was even decorated this year, I did. I took a bunch of shots of random items with bokeh in the background, then came across a way to change the shape of the bokeh. Needless to say, I was off and running….
I’m not done with this yet- I’d like to experiment with different shapes, and maybe a portrait with the bokeh in the background.
I believe my settings were 1/5sec, f/1.7, but I was using a Minolta lens adapted to a Nikon mount, and because of that, the camera cannot record my settings (it’s truely manual!) C&C welcome, and thank you for allowing me to participate!

8 Comments

  1. Amber said,

    Love it! What a great idea for the bokeh! Great job! I want to try change the bokeh now too!

  2. Courtney said,

    Love love love the Mickey Mouse bokeh! What a clever idea! I have seen other shapes but not the Mickey ears!! Super cute!! Your settings look great!! Are you able to check the meteadata when you upload your photos into a program? I know iPhoto, PSE, and Lightroom can find that information for you. It would be impossible for me to remember what my settings were :O) I’m impressed! It looks like you may want to try and do custom white balance. Have you tried that yet?? I tell you what, after I did it was like a miracle! I will definitely be using it Christmas morning. If you custom white balance it helps to prevent your photo from having a slight yellow tint to it (caused by your indoor lighting) I wrote a post about it, but let me know if you have any questions. This is such a fun photo full of holiday joy! Thanks for joining in and posting a picture! I look forward to seeing more of your photos!!
    P.S. Thank you friend for helping spread the word about my blog :O) I should come up with some kind of referral bonus. he he

  3. Janell Hughes said,

    ahhh LOVE the mickey mouse bokeh! Shaped bokeh is my favorite.

  4. Trish said,

    So glad you decided to join in. I am so ready to try and play with the shape bokeh. Fabulous photo and post.

  5. Sarah said,

    I like it. so cute!

  6. Amber Cullum said,

    What a fun idea!! How did you do it? Change the shape that is. I still need to shoot some bokeh shots.

    45 minute drive to Chick-fil-A…….sooooooo sad!! THankfully, ours is like 2 minutes away.

  7. sewin2disney said,

    Thank you everyone!
    I have been playing with my white balance—I just need more practice. The original picture wasn’t this red–I warmed it up a bit–it seemed too “cold” at first. And unfortunately, the extent of my photo editing software is Google’s Picasa…. I’ll take what I can get for now!
    Shaped bokeh is really easy—set your aperture as low as it can go, and place a piece of black paper with a small cutout in front of the lens, then snap away! Depending on how big or small your cutout is, you need to play with the shutter speed, so a remote really helps here. For more information, google “custom bokeh”—there’s lots of info out there!

  8. Mama Monkey said,

    I really like the Mickey shaped bokeh!!!

Leave a Reply

