“Rag Time” Christmas Quilt

October 31, 2010 at 8:28 pm (Holidays, Sewing)

I’ve made a few quilts in my time, but never a rag quilt before. I fell in love with these flannel “retro” Christmas prints when I was in Lancaster, PA over the summer, but didn’t purchase them. Recently, I was poking around on Fabric.com (finally buying my Amy Butler Weekender bag pattern!) and since I needed to spend another $20 or so to qualify for free shipping, I went ahead and bought those flannels. What better way to use a bunch of flannels then with a rag quilt! I did a little google-ing to research how to make one (who knew the back was cut up into squares too?) and then went to town.

All my squares…neatly stacked up:
DSC_0183

A sampling of the prints
DSC_0188

It took me awhile to come up with the layout. I couldn’t decide if I wanted a definite pattern, or if I wanted random. If I wanted a pattern, coming up with the pattern layout repeat was a challenge because some fabrics were similar in color. Finally, I came up with this:
DSC_0191

After I layed out the top, I decided that I wanted the back fabrics to be “in order”–meaning they would still look like one piece of fabric. So, I spent an afternoon putting out all those little squares for the backing out like a giant puzzle. It took about three hours to “reassamble” the backing fabric! After it was reassembled, I transfered the top pieces, and pinned away.
Obligitory “cat in the shot” picture. He’s laying on pins! Ouch!

DSC_0250

“This quilt is mine—allllll mine!”

DSC_0254

After lots and lots of sewing, here it is before it became a “rag quilt”

DSC_0262

And after lots and lots….and lots of snipping to help it “rag” up in the washer. (My hands really hurt remembering this step…)
DSC_0266
After three times through the washer, I deemed it done, and took it outside (on a blustery day) to photograph it:
DSC_0347

DSC_0351

DSC_0353

DSC_0359
My favorite picture:
DSC_0360

The back: I ran out of material for the back, so I used leftover squares from the front and ran them down the center.
DSC_0362

Another cool picture—I like how it shows off the rag seams:
DSC_0358
All in all, I’m really happy with how it came out. It was much more work then I had thought, but its the perfect sized lap quilt, very snuggly, and festive without being overly “Christmas”. I love how the colors are un-traditional, but still very cheery!

2 Comments

  1. justasewingmum said,

    Beautiful work!
    I have just finished a Raggedy Bag and I am currently sewing up a Quilt! So much fun and easy!
    thanks for sharing!

  2. Allison Posey said,

    This looks great! I am about to try my first one as well 🙂 Good job!

Leave a Reply

