Expand-a-clutch

August 19, 2010 at 1:53 pm (Sewing)

I love love love clutches, but hate how you can never find ones that quite fit all your “essentials” (in my case, this includes a small wallet, iPhone, camera and chapstick). Usually they fit the wallet, chapstick and either the phone or camera, but I need to have my camera with me at all times, and I obviously can’t leave the phone at home either!

I had gotten 2 coordinating fat quarters in Lancaster last month, and with a nice rainy day yesterday, I sat down to design a clutch using these fat quarters that would hold everything I need. I quickly sketched out my design: a clutch with a contrast “pleat” in the center so it could “expand” as needed. I then got out my pattern paper and drafted a pattern in a little under an hour. Gather some piping and zipper, and I was set to go. A few hours later, I had this:

DSC_0113

Here you can better see the contrast pleat in the center:

DSC_0114

I added 2 pockets on the inside – one for money and one for ID/Credit card that way I don’t have to waste additional space with a wallet:

DSC_0117

Close up of the pleat detail, handmade piping and zipper pull:
DSC_0119

3 Comments

  1. Mary said,

    This is adorable! Would you ever share your pattern? I love it!

    • sewin2disney said,

      I’m not so sure about sharing the pattern just yet as I’m debating selling this design in upcoming craft shows. I may put the pattern for sale on etsy, and I’ll update the blog if I do to let you know!

  2. New Clutch! « Daner Designs said,

    […] The problem with most clutches is that they are slightly wider and thinner, and therefore can usually carry only my wallet and phone, but having my camera with me is very important, so I’ve been working on making a “thicker” clutch (see “Expand-A-Clutch”) […]

Leave a Reply

