Straw beads

July 1, 2010 at 5:27 pm (General Crafting)

They say an idle mind is a dangerous thing. Nowhere is this more true then when I’m sitting in my craft studio thinking of what I should make next.
I was glancing around my room when my eyes fell upon my Perler Beads. Perler Beads were a favorite craft of mine as a child, and I recently broke them out again to start making some Nintendo-themed coasters. I was sitting there looking at them wondering what would happen if you really melted them. Like into flat little discs. Then I thought of other things that you could really melt, and I decided upon straws. A quick trip to the pantry revealed 3 brightly colored straws, and I got right to work heating up the iron, and cutting the straws into 1/2 inch pieces.
A few minutes, a few jump rings and a few beads later, I had these new earrings….

P6280677

An action shot:
P6280673

Leave a Reply

