Melty Crayola Goodness

May 12, 2010 at 2:32 pm (General Crafting, Holidays)

I was looking for a cute little gift to give to my students for Easter. I had been reading about melting crayons in silicone molds, and had been thinking about doing it for wedding favors (with a Mickey theme of course). While at Michaels one day, I came across a silicone egg mold on clearance, so I bought it, and attempted making some melty crayons.

The first thing you need to do is take the wrappers off of the crayons (and my crayon bin at school was full of naked crayons, so thankfully I didn’t have to peel too many crayons).
P3140967

P3130958

Then you break the crayons up into bits, and layer them in the mold.
P3130959
P3130944

Set the oven to 250*, and let them melt away. They took about 10-15 minutes.
P3130965

Let cool, pop out, and admire!
P3140972

From this:
P3140973

To this:
P3130962

The students LOVED them!

Leave a Reply

