Goya Contest

January 3, 2008 at 4:41 pm (Disney, General Crafting)

Goya products was running a “Disney Dreams Giveaway” where the entrants had to create a “Disney Masterpiece” out of Goya products. Any Goya product could be used, but there were a list of things given where at least one of those items had to be used. The grand prize is a trip for 6 to Walt Disney World—-of course I had to enter.
It was getting down to the deadline last week, so my mom and I buckled down to think of ideas. We spent hours online, looking through books, and just sitting in my Disney-filled room, looking for inspiration. In the end, we came up with four ideas, and the Saturday before it was due, we sat down to create.
My main entry was entitled Chef Mickey Says, “Goya makes *juggling* dinner ideas easy!” I spent the most time on this entry (and its the one I hope wins)
Here are all of the goya bags lined up
f (59)

Here is a link to the website where you can view all of the entries that others did in the Masterpiece Gallery.
The winner will be announced the end of Jan.

And the Mickey that I sketched (to be filled in with rice and beans)
f (61)

Here I am lining up grains of black dyed rice one at a time with a pair of tweezers to make the outline of Mickey
f (62)

And here’s mickey all outlined
f (64)

Then after many many many hours of filling him in with various dried beans, you have this
f (76)

f (77)

f (84)

Mickey as a finished product

Together my boyfriend and I created Figment, and he was titled “The goodness of Goya ~ not just a ‘Figment’ of your imagination”

His head:
f (82)

Up close of his rice-ness
f (83)

Finished Figment
a (111)

I also had another idea—but Mickey took so long that this took second stage.
This one was titled “Disney and Goya go Hand in Hand”
a (17)

And here is the one my mom did. Hers is titled “Disney and Goya ~ The perfect marriage”
She took a balloon and paper mached it, then covered it with rice. Then she took white beans and made a cobblestone path, dyed rice for the grass, and printed pictures of goya cans for the customary “cans” dragging behind the just married coach. The castle in the background is one I made a few years ago in a sculpture class.
a (29)

1 Comment

  1. Jennifer said,

    That is unbelievable. When will you find out if you won? All the projects are just amazing works of art. And I super love the castle sculpture! GOOD LUCK!

    Jennifer

Leave a Reply

